Jessica's Journey

Little challenges, big changes…

Spring gardens

From the spring fling coffee and yarn swap (yes, I’m actually going to take their suggested prompt, and do a real live blog post!): Let’s pretend for a minute we all live in the home of our dreams, have land, and don’t have to work so time is unlimited! It’s Spring planting season! What would you grow? A little veggie garden? A bed of bright spring blooms? Or is your thumb so far from green that the only thing you’d be planting is your tushy into a nice chair on the porch to get some knitting or crocheting done in the nice breeze?

Uh, I’ll go for option two, thank you very much! If I had time, right now I would be sitting on the porch knitting the gorgeous Madli’s Shawl from IK Summer 2004 (I think that’s where it’s from, or I’m getting confused with the Streaming Leaves Shawl). Despite the fact that I started it just last week and I’m making progress of about 1/2 a repeat a day, for a sum total of maybe six inches, I am still harbouring some kind of bizarre hope that I will actually get this done before my wedding on Saturday.
Actually, if I could put aside for just a moment that I am overwhelmed with wedding and house remodeling plans, I have to admit that I do have my dream house, with plenty of land. I have beds around at least half of the house, as well as a small fenced flower/sitting garden in the back yard, and a whole vegetable garden patch behind the barn. It’s just that pesky “time” thing that throws things for a loop. One of my “101 in 1001” goals (“101 in 1001”? Have I ever heard of that?) is to plant a garden and eat from my own homegrown foodstuffs, so I suppose I’ll have to get motivated to plant some vegetables at some point. And, I absolutely LOVE color, so I would want some flowers for me. Right now we have bulbs popping up all over the beds and they are so pretty, I just love them. However I think I’ll have to weather at least one season here before planting anything else, because I have no idea what else is growing out there!
No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

