Jessica's Journey

Little challenges, big changes…

Challenge 25 – Create a budget and track spending for 3 consecutive months.

You wouldn’t think it would be that hard for an accountant to keep a budget, but…okay, I have no excuse. Which is why I decided to do this.

I suppose I should say that I am fortunate enough to have a good job, and while I’m not exactly socking away the savings, my paycheck covers my bills every month. I’ve never had to watch each dollar. The problem comes in when I want to sock away the savings, and I want to pay down the credit cards, but the extra money never seems to be there, even though I know I’m not lacking for things. It’s not really about the math, or the finance – mainly the problem revolves around awareness.

Budgeting will help me to watch where my money is going, and see whether this is truly consistent with the goals I have set for myself. In order to achieve my other 101 in 1001 goals, I will have to be able to do this.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

